lynn whipple's art blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

It’s All About Flow ๐ŸŒผ๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸŒบ

1 Comment

Hello hello!

IMG_8137

I wanted to share Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi with you. He is one of the first authors I encountered who researched the “in the moment joy of creating”. I found his book, Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience, 20 or more years ago. It peaked my interest way back then and since then I’ve listened to Csikszentmihalyi’s wonderful Ted talk as well. But, it’s that idea that when we get in the moment we know the next logical thing, we feel the creative sparks moving us forward and we make the perfect next move. We are in the glorious flow! Perhaps we are making music or we are doing something athletic or we are painting or drawing or writing or singing or dancing!

I hope you find yourself experiencing creative flow often! One way I know how to easily dive into flow is to set a little time aside (even 15 minutes) and simply move your hands!! See what happens!

Let’s flow!

๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ˜„

All my best!

Xoxo

Lynn

P.S. Here is a recent article featuring some ofย Csikszentmihalyi’s wisdom. Enjoy!

HI! I love sharing things that have given me a spark or smile. Some of them have a link to Amazon for you. I want you to know if you use the links, it is possible I ย may get a little pocket change from Amazon, so thank YOU!! xoxox Enjoy!! xoxo Lynn

 

Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

One thought on “It’s All About Flow ๐ŸŒผ๐ŸŒฟ๐ŸŒบ

  1. Very interesting Lynn! I ordered the book. Thanks!

Leave a comment