lynn whipple's blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

Daily Drawing Community

13 Comments

drawing tastes good

I find my new daily drawing practice is most nourishing. There is great pleasure in taking even a few minutes each day and translating what you see or feel into the smooth line of a pencil or pen. Quick sketches where you grab shapes through your eyes and then let them pour out through your fingers, are invigorating as well as freeing. Drawing enhances your seeing, which enhances your enjoyment as you move through the world. It also helps any artistic practice, from painting to collage to songwriting. Plus its fun, and you get better very quickly, which is cool.
Recently I started a page on Facebook that was a supportive place to share your drawings and sketches and to glean information about the many ways we communicate through line, shape and mark. It’s called Daily Drawing Community, please press “like” and join in. It’s a cool, relaxed and happy place to celebrate the Power of Observation.

Cheers!
xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Daily-Drawing-Community/237141042969217

Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

13 thoughts on “Daily Drawing Community

  1. Oooo, I like this idea-it feels pressureless.

  2. hiya! it is!! thats the best part. no pressure. its just a little somethin, somethin you do for you if it feels good. I enjoy getting coffee even more at a coffee shop when I settle in for a bit and do a quick sketch or two. then there all the great games of composition and mark making that you can play with.
    XOXOXOXOXOXO

  3. I will head on over and press LIKE – then get my fingers moving ASAP!!!

    THanks Lynn,
    for keeping us buzy!!

  4. Hi Lynn…this is just what I needed to get me moving in the sketching direction, thanks!

  5. hi wanted to leave a note to say how much i enjoyed my visit to your blog and website . . . and although i don’t paint (i make assemblages) (is that even a word?) your advice is well taken ‘move my hands’ . . . that’s how it works. some days i just cant drag myself to the studio, but i find that when i do get there, something good happens.
    thanks for the nudge.
    had fun hanging out, i will be back often and soon.
    stop by my blog when you get a chance, http://rebecatrevino.blogspot.com/

  6. i knew your work just found by “chance” your blog and love it. Love your advices, inspirations, videos, suggestions….Thanks! i was feeling not capable of as i’m starting katie kendrick’s online class and your good humour and enthusiasm make me feel positive. The 100 bad paintings are a great advice.

    • I am so glad you likey!! As long as we are moving our hands, good stuff is happening. Don’t you just “feel right” when you are making something? Even a homemade card! Its all good!! Xoxo

  7. I “move my hands” every day without much thought to the results. It’s the best advice you could give, and only you could give it with such positive—I’m looking for the right word and can’t find it, so I’ll just say…. tintinnabulation!

    Love, C. xox

  8. hello sweet and lovely Colette!!

    YOU!! You are brilliant, and fun, kind, thoughtful and so uber talented! It warms my heart to know that you are out in the world, making beautiful things right this minute!! We are all better for it!
    I will follow your example!
    off to move the hands in the stu stu studio!
    xoxoxoxoxooxoxo

Leave a Reply

