lynn whipple's blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

if these studio walls could talk!

4 Comments

 

one giant journal entry!

 

My studio is big and okay, a little messy, laboratory of ideas. I like to see and keep track of, words, phrases, cool pieces and parts, found objects and snippets of fluff that I find interesting. They act as seed ideas.

ideas I want to keep track of visually

 

It feeds my thinking to play like this. The things that get put on the walls speak to a notion or possibility that I am toying with. It’s as if they are marinating in my eyes, and working quietly in the back of my mind, waiting for the moment I when I am able to put them to use.

an enraged rose, threatening to bloom

 

Colette! This one is for YOU! Colette mentioned this lovely quote and I popped it right up on the wall! 

I wrote her quote just above a great list of words I saved and savored from a kind professor about a essay I wrote. Here is what he said: An unexpected take of joy, a person who finds such awe, enormously enthusiastic, enamored, engaging, enticing and enthralling. You sold me. 

Sometimes I uncover that hand drawn, penciled list on my wall, and it never fails to make me stop and smile. 

a sweet card from my adorable 6 year old friend Anabelle

This is a beautiful Easter card from my sweet 6 year old pal Anabelle. You have never seen such an adorable girl! Sersly! I need a picture of her with her big blue eyes and round glasses! 

We barely covered a part of one wall! More to come! Does anyone else work this way? How do you keep up with the ideas you have in your mind for future work? How do you organize things?

I have always loved seeing artists in their studios and I am lucky to work in a shared warehouse with 20 other artists. Most of us have been friends for over 15 years (wow) and we are very much a family . We hang out in each others spaces, chitchat, laugh, have deep discussions about art, snack, laugh, eat chocolate, keep up on what each other is working on, play music, laugh, go to each others openings and basically goof off. When I think about it, everybody has a different way of keeping their studio, and each space is inspiring. I think it helps us all to feed off each others artistic energy. I know I have learned so much about so many things working in a shared artistic community. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. 

cheers,

xoxoxoxxo

Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

4 thoughts on “if these studio walls could talk!

  1. Now THAT’S what I’m talking about!!! See, I need to SEE everything when I’m working/playing, and you have it down pat. One day, when I have a separate studio, my walls are going to sing, just like yours.
    You are my hero!
    Thank you for making my day.

    xxooxx

    From my notebooks:

    The relic of a sunken day.
    Inconsolable landscape.
    Marinating in heartache.

    Un baiser qui change la couleur des yeux.

  2. You made MY day!! I love your words! beautiful and haunting, well done! hummmm, what does that french say?

    I love that you said you walls are going to sing!! sounds like a lyric to a song. I should get the guitar out!

    all my best!!!
    xoxoxoxo

  3. The French says: A kiss that changes the color of your eyes.

    How do you like that one!!!!

    And here’s one that I forgot to list in my earlier comment:
    “Never bolt your door with a boiled carrot” — Susan Musgrave, Canadian poet.

    You have been warned!

    xxooxxoo

  4. OOOH la la! I LOVE THAT! LOVE IT!

    bring it on sista!

    I am writing the carrot quote on my table right this minute! wait……..hold please……….
    DONE! complete with a dopey boiled carrot drawing. that’s a good one.

    more please!

    here is one off the wall for today:

    “It’s lucky to be named Lucky”

    It looks good, cause it’s written in pencil on the back of a cream colored photograph, and it’s stuck to the wall with a one and a half inch tiny porcelain man doll thing with a reddish hat.

    later tater.

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

