lynn whipple's blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

mess 101

4 Comments

I just returned from my trip University of Miami. Wow, it was a complete pleasure. Professor Henry Green was amazing. His grad students were some of the most positive people I have met. The cool thing was, that my  art exercise was set up as a surprise for the students. They were told to wear something to get messy in and bring some copies of their journal pages and some photos. So, as I told my friend Larry, I was a MYSTERY GUEST!!! oooooohhhh la la! I like that! 

But, the surprise was on me. I didn’t realize that everyone in the class had created a 3D self portrait as a previous project. As each person went around the room and spoke about what they had made and why, I was mesmerised. I can not imagine a better way to be introduced to a new group of people. Each story and portrait was so different, creative and heart-felt. It was a privilege and really nice experience. 

And then…. we made a MESS!! hahah! Paper down, glue out, photos flying, scissors snipping, brushes brushing, paint and water and pastels and holy poop! It was a frenzy of making stuff! None of these students considered themselves artists, they didn’t even know there were going to have an art experience last night, but it was, in my opinion, a smashing success. I believe that everyone is innately creative. We all have it. Sometimes it just takes permission and a fun place to play…. and a big pile of freedom and some laughter and some chocolate and some good conversation and some goofy ideas and a place to make a mess and and and……

ni nite, some chocolate ice cream just walked through the door, gotta go

Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

4 thoughts on “mess 101

  1. you are an art rock star. would love to see what they did.

  2. Hey You!

    Well, they were so amazing! Sersly, this one lady was so into it, she didn’t even use brushes! Just her hands, BOTH HANDS to spread the glue, a lot of glue, and for some reason, that made me so happy! I liked her freedom and gusto!
    Hey…gusto, thats a great word for the day, I give anyone who reads this a challenge to use the word gusto today, or better yet, do something with gusto, or name a pet turtle gusto….. but I digress, constantly. They were all art rock stars and very willing and unafraid and naturally talented. Very good qualities.

    xoxo
    yours in gusto!

  3. Oh, what a lovely mess! Truly.

    Eat well and prosper,
    Colette
    xxooxx

  4. yes to mess
    yes to eating well
    and yes to prospering!!

    xoxoxooxox

Leave a Reply

