lynn whipple's blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

life is good

13 Comments

 

throw the ball throw the ball

 

This is one of those posts where I think I should just jot something down.  Its been busy here, lots of house guests and shows, and dogs and music and changes too.  I lost a dear friend recently and its been very sad, but such a huge loss makes you appreciate all you have and how important your people are. I dearly loved my girl Leslie Lou and we will all miss her huge spirit and fantastic sense of humor and big, warm laugh. She was a keeper!

Love is good, in all its forms, and we have to embrace it whatever way it shows up. Life is good too! Savor the little stuff, the details, soft bright green grass, the smell of your coffee and your friends laugh, and that cute way their eyes crinkly on the edges. There is much to do, and much to be grateful for, and so much to learn. I think the trick is to just stop and take it all in and breath it. 

And pet the fur people! they give a special kind of love that is deeper than 1000 oceans. 

xoxoxoxoxox

Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

13 thoughts on “life is good

  1. Yes, I am an owl-spotter. Most that know me, know me as Judy though. It’s my new user-name and it fits as I have personal relationships with four owls. One, I haven’t heard or seen for a while. He or She may have been only hunting for a mate. They were around my house for a month or so until a few weeks ago. I miss her or him. The three at my retreat (only two miles away from home), visit me up close. They know my lame owl call and come over anyway. Lately, I hear them, but they don’t come close. I reckon they are busy with the responsibilities of nesting. I hope to meet number five soon.

    I love the list of “Creative Traits”. It is a validation of sorts. The same traits that qualify us as “crazy” call us creative; only the verbs and adjectives are modified.

    Oh Lynn, I just saw your paintings at your website! They are beautiful. I love the style. Scuse me, I know this is a blog, not a facebook reply tower or whatever that is.

    • Hey JK! aka Owlspotter!!!
      You crack me up! we have 2 BEAUTIFUL barred owls hanging up in the tree tops in our neighborhood. I keep accidently seeing them all the time, it is the most amazing thing to look up and just see them starring at you. I could get right up close and just gaze at them adoringly and they didn’t even move! even with 2 big dogs!!! majestic!! now at night I can hear them call to each other and we always stop and just tune in. I will have to practice my owl call, maybe you can teach me! I have an owl dance, wanna learn???
      Thanks Judy for liking me paintings that make me feel good. smiling here! I love doing them.
      Big love to you sista!!
      and to Claire and your mom too!
      and to your owls
      xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxo

  2. I recently saw your interpretation of the American Flag at the Gasparilla Art’s Festival. I found it very interesting especially when juxtaposed with the American Flag I made (http://fullcirclepiece.com/wallart_gallery2.html).
    I see yours as a ghost of the past: the diverse faces that stitched together a way of life out of the materials that were available, and mine as a commentary of the overspent American that catches their reflection in the pieces of plastic that make their world possible.
    Glad to have been given the opportunity to see your work.
    Thanks,
    Christina Aikman
    Full Circle Piece::

    • Christina!
      Wow, I love what you do, and I love your commentary on the overspent America! damn credit cards! sersly, that is well done! Our flags would be cool seen together. A flag show? hummm, that idea could have legs. your site is so fresh and smart, I am so glad you wrote. I hope we cross paths again sometime soon! If you come to Orlando, give me a shout and stop by our studio in Winter Park, McRaeartstudio.com
      Cheers and thanks for sharing!
      OXOXOXO

  3. It was 10 years ago or so. I saw your work and I was completely smitten. I still am. I love how you think. Never in a million years did I ever dream I would meet you, but it looks as if I will, in November in Omaha (I’m a newbie instructor at Silver Bella).

    Colette xoxo

  4. Colette!

    Such a breath of fresh air you are! I visited your blog and I was gobsmacked!!! I have that word written on my studio table right this instant!! Isn’t that a funny? I also have the word happenstance, which was written by a friend in pretty hand writing, and speaks to us as well! I can’t wait to meet you. Your work is both poetic and sophisticated and we must be kindreds.

    thanks for writing,
    xoxoox
    p.s. two more things written on my work table: marmalade and the words
    spank you. hahaaaa!

    • Merci buckets, Lynn.

      I’m collecting words for you… I have them everywhere, but mostly in notebooks and scraps of paper. I wanted to write on the walls, things like “an enraged rose threatening to bloom”, but I’m not allowed to. Heh!

      xxooxoxo

  5. poop, are we not supposed to write on the walls??? ooops! too late!
    Are you really collecting words?? I love that, I will save some good ones for you too! I should show you a picture of my studio wall, I have written all over it and there are tons of little pieces of paper, and weird, but inspiring odd pieces and parts and other cool stuff. I think of the studio wall as one giant living journal. tomorrow I am going to write up there “an enraged rose threatening to bloom!!!!!” and I will send you a picture!

    xoxoxo

  6. Yeehaw!!! I will just have to live vicariously through you. I would love to see your studio wall. If you read French, I have some great French words/phrases too.

    xxooxx

  7. oui!!!!!!!!
    Yes please! I love french! who doesn’t it’s so beautiful. I just saw an amazing singer who plays the ukulele! she did some wonderful french songs and her voice is clear and strong. she is beautiful in every way. her name is Victoria Vox. worth a listen.
    on one of her cd’s she writes the definition of ukulele:

    uke(flea) lele (jumping)

    jumping flea! hahaaa!!

    I took pictures of my walls and wow, they are chock full, I wrote your quote up there, and it looks right at home!

    I will post it soon!

    au voir!
    xoxoxoxoxo

  8. I just love “Pet the fur people.” Mind if I use that line in my next screenplay?

Leave a Reply

