lynn whipple's blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

for the love of art. teachers.

6 Comments

 

beautiful bird by art teacher Mrs. Ashcraft

 

I heard this morning, of the passing of a beloved and talented music teacher at the school where we have been working as visiting artists. I had never met this man, but in the past week, I have wandered thru the Visual Arts area, past the Music and Theater Departments, and beamed as I watched teenage boys spilling out into the world singing and laughing.

I peeked into a room filled with the most beautiful Orchestra instruments. Large burnished, chestnut colored cellos, gleaming brass horns, chairs and music stands. 

I heard a piano being played and caught a glimpse of students gathered around in song. AH HA, I thought, this must a Glee Club!

I stopped and studied the dozens and dozens of proudly framed theatre posters that spoke so brightly of the heightened thrills and excitement of putting on a school play.

I can only imagine what a caring person and teacher this man was judging from the simple joy I felt walking through these halls. Amazing art teachers are a special breed and spread more love, inspiration and good will than is possible to measure. Their gifts are felt in each song sung, instrument played, artwork created and actor’s voice. Through the lives of every student, a good teacher’s touch and artistic encouragement continues to reach others. I have to tell you, that this makes me cry, because we have all been blessed with a teacher, or several like this, who has effected us in such a profound, giving and creative way.

For those who knew Mr. Jonathan May, I am sending you love and wishes that your sadness is tempered with the joy of knowing someone so lovely.
On a personal note, I am saying my thanks to my third grade teacher, Mrs. Courtney.
Her Julia Child like enthusiasm and kind encouragement made me first feel as if I were an artist.
I also send gigantic and happy gratitude to the man I refer to as “my teacher” Mr. David Passalaqua.
At this moment, I am stunned by the number of names that are reeling up in my mind, so many friends, family members other artists who have taught and inspired me.
Thank you all for your generous gifts. Please know that your presence in the world has a truly positive and powerful effect on so many. I honor you and love you, and wish share chocolate, laughter and gratitude with each and every one of you!
yours in creativity,
XOXOXOXO
Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

6 thoughts on “for the love of art. teachers.

  1. Teachers are not rewarded and respected as they should be. It’s such an honorable profession on par with physicians and care providers. They shape our lives in ways we don’t realize until they are gone.

    Nice post.

    • I concur! Teachers should be put on a pedestal and be given the highest praise and compensation. Who has not been changed and inspired by a teacher? They are building the fabric of our society day in and day out. Amazing, tireless and incredibly giving, and so much more. xoxoxoxo
      Thank you Kanye

  2. Amen to all the great teachers out there, the givers of possibility and freedom. I had a few great ones too. I never got to tell one what a great teacher he was.

  3. the givers of possibility and freedom NICE! and for true james.

    didn’t you have a Mr. Orr?

    you know, when I was writing that post you were one of the ones who has and continues to inspired me. so, that means I owe you some chocolate!

    xoxoxoxo

  4. What wonderful comments on teachers. I took a seminar where the leader told everyone to think of a teacher who had influenced us. The participants were 18-70 and yet we all remembered names and specifics and wanted to share our love and appreciation! My 3rd grade teacher changed my life!

    I see you will be teaching at Silver Bella and look forward to meeting you!
    ~Marilee

  5. Hello Marilee,

    I am looking forward to meeting you at Silver Bella as well! I love that you have a sign on your blog that sez “no obligation blog!” it made me feel good about my posting schedule and I laughed about your kids showing you the show the Hoarders! we got a little itchy when we first saw it. we might have a problem, but no cat poop!

    I love the way your blog rolls along so nicely with so many great images. It’s fun to read and visually very cool.

    I always had in the back of my mind, that some day I could have an antique/coffee/book/chocolate shop, just because it kind of feels like my studio is one already! You will have to tell my how much fun you have with it when we meet. I think it would be exciting to collect cool stuff and arrange it in a beautiful way, while eating chocolate. That way we would have even more of an excuse to keep on junkin!

    all my best!
    XOXO
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

