lynn whipple's blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

coco channel

2 Comments

We just enjoyed a really lovely movie: Coco before Channel. Coco was someone who had an amazing eye and an independence that stole my heart. She had a great love for the feel of fabric, shape, movement, comfort and style that has informed years and year of fashion. And, who does not love Audrey Tautou? Have you ever seen the movie Amelie? You must. It is one of the all time, most wonderful films of our lifetime. Her childlike wonder, artfulness and quite giving nature makes her my hero.  She is worth adoring. Audrey Tautou may be my own personal successor to Audrey Hepburn. 

I want to mention that the lights are all up in our town for the holidays. I have visited them almost every evening. To decorate a charming town center with white twinkly lights is like sprinkling jimmies on top of the icing on a cupcake. Winter Park, you look so beautiful. I am glad you are my town. I love this town. The trees are amazing, even without lights.

Happy Holidays!

XOXOXO

Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

2 thoughts on “coco channel

  1. hey lynn, i just got over to your blog and facebook pics thru gregory story’s fb. i saw the pictures i especially liked -i was talking to you about them- with the writing on top again. i love those. i am glad you are painting more. did you do anything with the dog tags thingy. someone already stole my dog judging photos! luckily people steal things or my studio would be more overflowing thn it is. i hope you and john are having a fun time. i am spoiled rotten just putzing about- trying some new silhouette paintings and visiting friends studios and shops. i went for a helicopter ride to the top of a mountain to build a snowfort for a brita water filter commercial. it was sooooo awesome (and i dont use that word) a frozen lake and a barely running creeklet. at the top of a waterfall on the top of a mountain on top of the world! anyways just a note to say i really like the word over paintings and hope to see them one day. too bad we are at opposite ends of the continent. but i will meet you in the middle again! and maybe we can go shopping at the market. best to you and your loved ones-jim

  2. JIH! you are a revelation to me!! I love thinking of you on top of a mountain building a snowfort! Waterfall, frozen lake, creeklet?? OMG, it sounds so fantastic! Only YOU! I bet you had them all laughing! This Florida girl is wishing she was there in the frozen wonderland. Didn’t you love riding in a helicopter? very exciting. like you!

    I still have all my dog pieces, they are up on my studio wall and of course the big, weird, felt dog tag thingys. I show them to people and make them guess what they are! I love them so. I still have not put them to “work” but they are enjoyed and right in my eyes every day.

    Thanks for taking the time to say you like the word over paintings! (I like that phrase) I am still painting away, and really enjoying it. I did 2 more bad paintings today. yikes, but they teach you something each time. I would love to see your new silhouette paintings, I bet they are fantastic!

    Happy Holidays, of course we will meet again and shop and eat and try on silly clothes and buy odd blue boots and drink and eat and tell stories!
    Sending LOVE,
    XOXOXOXOXXO
    Lynn

Leave a Reply

