lynn whipple's blog

Sparking and Savoring the Artful Life

Happy Birthday HOney! and what do the Captain and Tennille and saki and beer have in common?

Leave a comment

My husband, John, who is one of the nicest, most talented, funniest, kindest, smartest, goofiest and good lookin people I know, just had a birfday! We really just enjoyed it! Sushi and hot saki with cold beer is a good, good thing. I totally recommend it to everyone. The warm, clear sake with cold, frosty beer is some kind of a scientific combustion thingy that creates the perfect buzz. Sort of like cake and ice cream, hot fudge and whipped cream or the Captain and Tennille. Some things just well together, like family, friends, fried food and bowling. That is an excellent combo too! Cheap, fun and silly! All good! So happy birthday honey bunny you are appreciated, admired and loved! 

Speaking of things that go well together. I am finding early mornings on the dock and making a painting are a perfect combination as well. My routine has included mornings on the dock or in the backyard for a long time. Our dogs love it, as well as our little jackiecat. One day I sat and counted how many critters I saw. It was high number, which I forget exactly, 34 maybe, but I wrote it down, somewhere….anyhoo, I counted and enjoyed every type of bug, butterfly, ant, squirrel, several different fish, 2 dogs, 1 cat, 3 types of ducks, raccoon (tree napping), blue jays, sparrows, wrens, kingfishers (I heart kingfishers) mocking birds, osprey, those cute redish brown birds, black birds, the herons, the little funny water bird I love but don’t know the name of, the turtles………even flies. So when I added painting each morning to the mix, I had no idea how much I would love it. It makes you concentrate even more on your surroundings. The mere act of mixing colors has really been a true pleasure.  I had no idea what I was missing. This daily ritual has brought so much more to the mornings. For me, it truly is not about the finished painting, but how involved you get in it. Our studio is only about 2 miles from the house, but waking up, walking out with the dogs, all sleepy, into the backyard and just starting to paint, makes me realize the merits of those who work at home. No car ride, no getting “dressed” no errands on the way, to slow your connection. Just begin. So often, I solve things in my sleep and this way you just plug right back into the thoughts that were already in motion. At the risk of sounding hokey, it feels like a really sweet gift, every time. I am wondering if we all might add a little somethin-somethin to our day just for the joy of it. The amount of time can be small, and it can even be a secret. A simple act, purely for your own growth, pleasure or enjoyment. For you. No judgement necessary.

sending love,

xoxoxooxoxoxoxooxxoxo

 

go honey, beat Matthew!!!!

go honey, beat Matthew!!!!

Author: lynnwhipple

I am a girl and an artist. Short list of things I love: art, artists, painting, collage, mixed media, funny stuff, altered photographs, all things outdoors, freedom, smart stuff,music, writing, orange dogs and one eyed cats, all animals, chocolate, color, laughing, ideas, creativity, games, learning, dancing, yoga, summer, night time, cell phones and sneezing.

Leave a Reply

